Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Below you will find the magazines, periodicals, and journals NIS subscribes to, whether in digital or print. For login information please refer to the Online Library Subscription email sent to teachers and students, or contact the library at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Journals, magazines, and periodicals
Newton Kids (print only) - science for younger students in Chinese
Intro to online services
Below are the databases and websites to which NIS provides access. For login information, please refer to the Online Library Subscription email sent to teachers and students, or contact the library at email@example.com.
Online Subscriptions and Databases
ActiveHistory provides educational, award-winning interactive simulations, decision-making games, self-marking quizzes, high-quality worksheets and detailed lesson plans for the history classroom. For teacher use.
BrainPop is a group of educational websites with over 1,000 short animated movies, together with quizzes and related materials, covering the subjects of science, social studies, English, math, engineering and technology, health, and arts and music. Closed captioning is available.
BrainPop ELL is an English language learning program that uses engaging animated movies to model conversational English.
Focusing on students through grade 3, BrainPop Jr. offers short animated movies on various topics. Closed captioning is available.
Britannica Online Image Quest
Access to over 3 million images for educational use with APA citations.
EBSCOhost is an intuitive online research platform used by thousands of institutions and millions of users worldwide. With quality databases and search features, EBSCOhost helps researchers of all kinds find the information they need fast.
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
No login needed at school. Choose from elementary, middle, and high school encyclopedias and explore articles, images, videos, and more. Articles can be translated into other languages.
Partnered with EBSCO, it offers most of the same articles but with the ability to search by Lexile or reading level.
Extended Essay Online Course Companion
Valid until Dec. 31, 2024. For teacher use only.
Partnered with EBSCO, Flipster offers online magazines.
Connects libraries, researchers, teachers, and students around the world with full-text searches of digitized back issues from vital scholarly content in more than 50 disciplines. Includes journal content, primary sources, images, and more across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
The Map as History
The largest online collection of animated historical maps
NewsBank provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues.
PreK-3 database for reading and research; choose from animals, science, biographies, social studies and health topics. Leveled text, educational games, and videos.
Research Rocket - Newsbank partner
A partner of Newsbank, Research Rocket offers online news and magazine articles that are searchable by Lexile or reading level.
A reading app made by Overdrive. Checkout and read ebooks and audiobooks on any device. If your public library uses Overdrive (Sora or Libby) you can connect with them, too!
An online collection of animated talking picture books, which teach kids the joy of reading in a format they love. TumbleBooks are created by taking existing picture books, adding animation, sound, music, and narration to produce an electronic picture book which children can read, or have read to them. Each story comes with puzzles and games geared to ensure reading comprehension.